September 6, 2008

  • I smell hotdogs. I hear airplanes.

    Hear me!

     

    They are selling the seats from Shea, as soon as the season is over.

     

    I want to know something is this the last stadium in America that is named to honor someone?

     

    The new stadium will be called Citifield, to honor Citibank. 

     

    That should be enough for those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about to find out.

     

    And if you are back from your googling, this is my plan.  I plan to buy three sets of two seats each (that will cost less than $2,700), then I’m going to build a platform of steps in my living room to put the seats on, so there will be three levels, and no one’s head will get in the way of anyone else’s.  I’m going to bolt the seats to the floor and to the platform and get a big screen TV to watch all Mets games from these seats.

     

    Then I will paint on the walls a rendition of Shea and a sea of orange hats as if its orange hat day at Shea.  And on the ceiling I’m going to paint sky and a big airplane flying low as it takes off from LaGuardia.  Then I’m going to create a music file of planes taking off, and I’m going to play it on repeat while the game is on.

     

    I’ll open the windows and cook Kahn's hot dogs, and then I’ll cry. (Ralph Kiner how could you let this happen!)

     

    Goodbye Shea.  If the Mets get into the playoffs this year, I promise to come see you one last time.  We are the same age, you know.  I hope this doesn’t usher in my end as well.  It shouldn’t, not as long as I have your seats.